COVID-19 Dynamics & Evolution - Part 1

This day will feature invited talks from experts in the fields of COVID-19 epidemiology, modeling, and evolution.

Draft Agenda (all times are relative to start time of 06:00 Pacific Daylight Time, UTC-7)

Thursday, July 30, 2020
6:00 am Opening Remarks

Session 1: Epidemiology of COVID-19
6am LA (UTC-7)/9am NYC/15h Paris

6:15 am COVID-19 Vaccine Evaluation, Natalie Dean
6:40 am What makes a test-trace-isolate program work:  a modeling framework and evaluation too, Justin Lessler
7:05 am Geographic disparities in SARS-CoV-2 prevalence are predicted by reductions in commuting-style mobility, Stephen Kissler
7:30 am Combined epidemiological and phylogenetic analysis of the transmissibility of the D614G mutation in SARS-CoV-2, Kathy Leung
7:55 am Break

Session 2: Modeling SARS-CoV-2 Spread & Control
8am LA (UTC-7)/11am NYC/17h Paris

8:10 am   Transmission characteristics and infection fatality of SARS-CoV-2, Christian Althaus
8:35 am Impact of lockdown dates on the growth of local SARS-CoV-2 epidemics estimated through phylodynamic analyses, Manon Ragonnet-Cronin
9:00 am   The known, the unknown and the unknowable: Adaptive disease modelling to aid COVID-19 decision making in South Africa, Sheetal Silal
9:25 am   Dynamics of COVID-19: Near- and Long-Term Challenges, Joshua Weitz
9:50 am Break

Session 3: Evolution & Phylogenetic Analysis of SARS-CoV-2
10am LA (UTC-7)/1pm NYC/19h Paris

10:05 am Genetic typing in an emerging pandemic as an epidemiological tool, Aine O'Toole
10:30 am Evolution and epidemic spread of the SARS-CoV-2 Epidemic in Brazil, Nuno Faria
11:55 am Full genome viral sequences inform patterns of SARS-CoV-2 spread into and within Israel, Danielle Miller
11:20 am SARS-CoV-2 Introduction and Spread in Africa, Tulio de Oliveira
11:45 am Discussion
12:00 pm Adjourn

Speakers

Christian Althaus
University of Bern Immuno-Epidemiology Research Group

Natalie Dean
University of Florida Biostatistics and Emerging Pathogens Institute

Nuno Faria
University of Oxford Zoology

Stephen Kissler
Harvard University

Justin Lessler
Johns Hopikins University

Kathy Leung
University of Hong Kong School of Public Health

Danielle Miller
Tel Aviv University Bioinformatics

Aine O'Toole
University of Edinburgh

Tulio de Oliveira
University of KwaZulu-Natal

Manon Ragonnet-Cronin
Imperial College London COVID-19 Response Team

Sheetal Silal
South African COVID-19 Modeling Consortium

Joshua Weitz
Georgia Institute of Technology Biological Sciences & Physics

 

Agenda last updated: July 27, 2020

 

UCSD CMEUCSD CME facebook UCSD CME twitterUCSD CME Instagram UCSD CME LinkedIn

Content is subject to change without notice. Please refer to the activity website for the most current information.

Official website of the University of California San Diego. Copyright ©2020 Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.